10 Bollywood celebrities who turned politicians

Bollywood and politics, both worlds are full of drama and excitement. There are several Bollywood celebrities who sidelined Bollywood to join the political parties.

Here are 10 Bollywood celebrities who turned to politics.

Hema Malini

Hema Malini is an Indian actress, director, producer, dancer and politician. She campaigned for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Late Vinod Khanna, during the Lok Sabha elections in Gurdaspur, Punjab in 1999. Actress-politician Hema Malini officially joined BJP in 2004 and was appointed as the general secretary of the BJP in March 2010. She served as a Rajya Sabha MP from 2003 to 2009, having been nominated by the president of India APJ Abdul Kalam. She was elected to Lok Sabha in 2014 general elections, after defeating Mathura incumbent Jayant Chaudhary with a good margin.

Hema malini politics


The dashing Bollywood hero is not the only successful actor but also a popular politician. He was Bhartiya Janta Party contestant from Bikaner in Rajasthan in 2004 general elections. He won the seat and became Member of Parliament. He faced criticism for his remark made during his election campaign where he was quoted saying that he should be elected Dictator perpetuo to teach “basic etiquette that democracy requires” He rarely attended Parliament when the house was in session.

Jaya Bachchan

Jaya Bhaduri Bachchan is an Indian film actress and politician. She is recognised as one of the  Veteran actresses of Indian cinema. She spent a good amount of time with the Samajwadi Party and then made her way to Rajya Sabha. She was first elected in 2004 as a Samajwadi Party MP, representing Rajya Sabha till March 2006. Her second term was from June 2006 until July 2010.  She was re-elected in 2012 for the third term.
She is also felicitated with India’s fourth highest civilian award Padma Shri by the Government of India. In 2017 She won the Best Parliamentarian award.

Amitabh Bachchan

The master of stardom and superstardom, Amitabh Bachchan is a legendary actor has also burnt his hands in Indian politics.
In 1984, the actor of millennium took a break from acting and entered politics to support his family friend Rajiv Gandhi. He contested for the Allahabad seat in the 8th Lok Sabha elections against former CM of Uttar Pradesh Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna and won by a large margin – 68.2 percent of the vote. He soon realised that politics was not his cup of tea and he resigned after three years. The resignation followed the implication of Bachchan and his brother in some scandal by a newspaper, which he vowed to take to court.  Bachchan was eventually found not guilty. He was framed in the scam and falsely alleged.

Kirron Kher

Kirron Kher is an Indian theatre, film and television actress. She started her socio-political career with non-profit organisations such as ‘Laadli’( a campaign against female infanticide) and ‘Roko Cancer’(a campaign for Cancer awareness). She joined  Bhartiya Janata Party in 2009 and campaigned for the party during elections, including in Chandigarh municipal corporation elections in 2011. BJP declared Kirron Kher as the Lok Sabha candidate from Chandigarh for Lok Sabha General Elections 2014 and she won the seat with a good majority, defeating sitting MP Pawan Bansal of Congress.

Jaya Prada

Jaya Prada is an Indian actress and politician. She started her political career with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 1994 and campaigned in several constituencies. She was nominated to the Rajya Sabha representing Andhra Pradesh in 1996. She also held the post of Telugu Mahila President.

She left the party following differences with party supremo N. Chandrababu Naidu and joined the Samajwadi Party. Jaya contested from Rampur Parliamentary constituency in UP during  2004 General election and got elected. She was re-elected in 2009.  Jaya Prada was expelled from the party on 2 February 2010 for allegedly indulging in anti-party activities and damaging the party’s secular image. Later she joined Rashtriya Lok Dal in 2014 and got the ticket to contest from the Bijnor seat in the general elections but lost it.

Raj Babbar

Raj Babbar is an actor-politician belonging to Indian National Congress.He started his political career with Janata Party in 1989. He later joined the samajwadi party and was a member of Rajya Sabha from 1994 to 1999. He was suspended from Samajwadi Party in 2006.

He joined the Indian National Congress in 2008 and was elected as the Member of Parliament in 2009. He lost the 2014 general elections to VK Singh. Currently, he serves as the President of Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee.

Shatrughan Sinha

Shatrughan Sinha is an Indian film actor and politician.He is a member of Bhartiya Janta Party(BJP).He defeated Bollywood celebrity, Shekhar Suman, to win general elections from Patna Sahib constituency in Bihar. His success in political career continued in 2014 general elections as he won again. He was a cabinet minister under the ministry of Atal  Bihari Vajpayee.


The famous Bollywood actor entered politics in 2004 by joining Congress Party and elected as the seventh member of parliament for the Mumbai North constituency in the 14th Lok Sabha elections and defeated Bharatiya Janata Party’s Ram Naik with a whopping majority. During the elections, he said his agenda would be prawaas (transportation), swasthya (health) and gyaan (education). According to official sources, he made some efforts in the fields of health and education. During his tenure as the Member of Parliament, Govinda was usually absent when the Lok Sabha was in session. In 2009, he chose not to contest the elections and went back to concentrate on his  Bollywood career.

Gul Panag
Former beauty queen, model, actress, producer and activist Gul Panag has always inspired us for more than one reasons. In 2014 General election she was the Aam Aadmi Party candidate from Chandigarh to counter actress Kirron Kher. But she came on the third position with 1,08,679 votes with  Kirron Kher winning the election with 1,91,362 votes. In early 2017, she became a licensed pilot.

2 thoughts on “10 Bollywood celebrities who turned politicians

  • February 20, 2018 at 8:21 am

    Who is the last one?

    • February 25, 2018 at 3:26 pm

      Gul Panag


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *